top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePolitics and Pearl

How to study for multiple finals at once

Sorry for being absent! I take a study hall-type class and I had exams in it this week on my classes that I'm going to take individual exams in starting next week. See how I was stressed? I am currently mind exhausted because I had to study CivPro, Contracts, Property, and CrimLaw for two exams. I do not think I have recovered yet.


If you have two exams back to back, read on for how to deal with them in a relatively sane way. (Wine included at the end).




#1: Earlier The Better

Start making study guides and studying early. Earlier the better. If you start studying early, you will have more time to focus on what you are having problems with. Plus, you will be able to have more time to relax and go ask the professor(s) for help.


#2: Start Where?

I prefer starting with the big topics like Statute of Frauds or easements and things that professors emphasized or explicitly said "know this." Just start with the big stuff and work towards the minor stuff (the two sentences on license my professor added or the adequate anticipation).


The big topics will likely give you the most trouble and are most likely going to appear on your exam(s) so if you spend the most time on them, you will have a good chance at doing well.


#3: Seek Help

Do not feel afraid to seek outside help. I like listening to YouTube and Barbri videos on topics I am not comfortable with. I prefer listening to them while making side notes in my outlines. Sometimes it takes another person saying it a different way than your professor(s) for it to stick.


#4: Buddy Up

With back to back exams, I prefer to study with a friend. It helps to talk things out. Bring snacks (grapes, apples, cheerios, and cucumbers and salsa) and make it a little party.


#5: Get serious

I think preparing for back to back exams are best done in the library. I like studying at home but the library makes me get serious. I cannot get sidetracked in the library like I can at home.


I suggest bringing a snack or two, water, advil, and a hoodie to the library with you. I tend to get headaches when I study so I will take advil before I start studying for back to back exams so I won't get sidelined by a headache.


#6: Make acronyms.

The best way to remember information in large amounts is by making acronyms for the elements. For example, PINEE is used to describe the different affirmative easements (prescriptive, implied by prior use, necessity, estoppel, and explicit) while DILF is used to explain R. 11 in Civ Pro (denial, improper purpose, legal contentions, and factual contentions).


#7: BREATHE

Stressing out will only work against you. Make sure you take a breather once in awhile. Remember my insta about going to the horse race? I went away for the weekend with my boyfriend and his friends to the horse race to unwind. I still studied when I went away (I got up early and locked myself in the bathroom with my notes and I didn't go out clubbing with them).



Cut yourself off at 9pm each night so you have time to rewatch The Mindy Project and do a face mask. Mental health is important! Before the exam (like an hour beforehand), avoid studying and being around other people. Hearing other people freak out about the exam is the worst thing ever. Also, if you hear someone say something you don't know, DO NOT FREAK OUT. They may have that info wrong. Have faith in what you studied.





67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page