top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePolitics and Pearl

Studyguide 101



Midterm season is upon us. You are most likely stressing out about studying. Take a deep breath and have faith that you will be able to memorize everything.


Easiest way to study, in my opinion, is with a study guide. Below are my tips on how to create an effective study guide.


#1: Syllabus

Remember the first week of the semester when you received the class syllabus? Whip that back out because it is about to help make your life easier.


Start your outline by writing out the reading list section of your syllabus. This is something that I have just started doing this semester, but it has been extremely helpful. If you write out the reading list, you will be creating a framework. Your syllabus will most likely just list the subject of each chapter.


#2: Table of Contents

Next thing I like to do to help create a framework is to use the table of contents from the textbooks. If you follow your syllabus, you will be able to find the main and subheadings that were discussed in class and were assigned in the readings.


#3: Class Notes

Once I have the framework laid out, I will then fill in the sections with my class notes. I prefer to start with class notes over textbooks because the class notes are what the professor stressed. The class notes are also the professor's interpretation of the material and most likely the way he/she wants you to know the information.


#4: Reading Notes

I prefer to use my reading notes to add to my class notes. Add anything to back up what your professors said or a topic that was not mentioned in class.


I use a different color for my reading notes to make sure that the information is separated from class notes. Trust me, this comes in handy in case you to strictly stick to your professors' interpretation of the subject. One time I was discussing an answer to a property practice exam with a classmate. He mentioned what he wrote for a gift question. I told him what I wrote and he immediately said "Oh, that's not what Professor ___ said." I went through my notes and was able to tell him it was something from the reading. {Side note: Professors want you to answer with stuff you can only find in readings because it shows that you're giving effort. A lot of students don't do this. If you do, it will separate you from the rest.}


#5: Supplement

Sometimes your professor and the assigned reading will not teach a subject in a way that you understand it. This is where supplementals come in. Also in another color, add any additional information from supplementals that clarify the information for you and matches the information the professor is teaching. As mentioned here, supplementals tend to include information that is not being addressed in class. Make sure that what the supplementals say match what is being taught in class. A lot of students do not pay attention to this and will get a bad grade on an exam because they are bringing in information that the professors do not want included.


#6: Print

Most likely your professor will hold some kind of review session. I will print out my study guide and bring them to the review session. I will write in the margins any additional information the professor says or any examples that are given. I prefer to print them out and bring them to class because handwriting notes forces me to pay attention. Any handwritten notes from review sessions seem to jump out to me more since they do not blend in with the typed words. Plus, its more convenient to be able to write out charts or examples.



#7: Highlight and Note

I have a highlighter system that works out pretty well. Yellow is for general information, orange is for important information, pink is for names/titles and green is for really serious information.


I also prefer to write out a summary of some topics in the margins. It allows me to think of a way to break down the information. I prefer to keep the "summary" to 2 words - 1 sentence. This is also really beneficial when I do a last minute review before an exam since I have written out keywords or a simple sentence of the info.

114 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page