top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePolitics and Pearl

Work Hard Now so You can afford those louboutins later

My first post is about studying. You're either thinking "boring, I know how to study" or "yes, I need help with studying in law school." I can't promise you that this is the holy grail for making great grades in law school, but this is how I was able to make great grades my first semester. The theme is balance. Work hard now so you can Netflix later.


Step 1: Organize.


This sounds simple but so many people do not do this! Have your week planned out. I like to figure out if I can evenly spread my work throughout the week if I don't have a lot going on or if I need to go hard during certain days because I won't be able to do work later. For example, if my boyfriend and I plan on going on a day trip or are going to have date night on the weekend (he's in med school an hour away), I will try to get all of my readings and major studying out of the way so that on Sunday I can just do review sessions and not be stressed about playing catch up.



Step 2: Utilize Time

This semester I am lucky to have long gaps between classes. I take this time to study but my classmates tend to go home and nap. Each to their own but I have found that I am more alert during the day and already am in school mode so I will take advantage of the time to start reviewing and updating my notes. Yes, if I am caught up I will watch shows in the library. I do my readings at night because I feel like I am able to study better during the day. (note: I go to school early to look over readings for the day so I am refreshed) While I envy my classmates for napping during the day, I have noticed that their studying time takes a hit. They tend to save their readings for either the night or right before class (no, no, NO). Their studying? They tend to save it for right before a quiz or an exam. By utilizing time you have (breaks before class, waking up early, etc.), you are able to save yourself a headache of trying to cram weeks worth of studying right before midterm finals. Plus, study during the week for at least 20 minutes and you will be able to have more time for mani-pedis on the weekend since it will just be a review session.


Note: I like to "casually study." I will have a show/movie (something I've seen before) on in the background and study my notes. I feel less stressed doing this. This sounds weird but I have been able to retain more info this way because I am not stressed and focused on the info while also hearing background noise (something that helps during the exams when there are distractions going on).


Step 3: Figure out what works best for you.

This applies to everything I said above. Personally, I prefer waking up early so I'm at school an hour and half before class to review readings and study anything that may be confusing me and study between breaks so I am not stressing later. I also like to make note cards, look over study guides, and constantly watch Barbri lectures. You haven't purchased a Barbri plan yet? Do it ASAP! You can get the outline book for free from a representative at your school at beginning of the fall semester but the online plan (it is costly, but worth it) includes lectures (I owe my A+ in CivPro to this) and quizzes.


Side Note: I loooooove writing in pink ink. It makes me feel classy but the color also keeps me awake and my attention.



Step 4: See the Info, Be the Info.


I looooove writing out notecards. My new favorite thing to do is to write the front in calligraphy letters. It is easy on the eyes and makes me feel classy! Notecards are beneficial because you retain info when you're writing them out and then you can whip them out at any moment to review. I also put any cards that I need help with aside. This is helpful since it is hard to put aside info in a study guide to review later.


Additionally, I make a study binder. I will print out my class/reading notes (i combine them as classes go on), outlines, study guides, and charts (look on Pinterest!) and sort them by class in a binder. I will tote my binder around with me. This is helpful because I can write in the margins any helpful notes (especially do this during review sessions) and place sticky notes with any additional notes.


HELPFUL HINT: get the jumbo notecards from Walmart so you can get aLL of the information.



Step 5: Be Beyoncè Pad Thai


Last step is to breathe and not let the stress get the best of you.

It is so easy to be overwhelmed and want to throw in the towel. But do not! You can and will succeed in law school! Just organize your time and prioritize tasks. Law school is also a learn and fail system where you will learn what works best for you. Everybody gets overwhelmed with the pressure that comes with school, but everybody also comes out alive. Study, do your best, and everything will fall into place! The school accepted you for a reason and you need to remember how mentally strong you are.


If you feel like you aren't understanding the material enough, take a deep breath and go to Barbri.com, pinterest (yes, there are great charts on there), and youtube (seriously, try any subject!). You will learn it and you will succeed!


xxx

136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page